And oh, how clueless I was to think that I could ever be with someone like you. You are the moon, and I am the smallest star in the sky.

Someday, we’ll run into each other again, I know it. Maybe I’ll be older and smarter and just plain better. If that happens, that’s when I’ll deserve you. But now, at this moment, you can’t hook your boat to mine, because I’m liable to sink us both.

There are so many fragile things after all. People break so easily. So do dreams and hearts.

Someday I might get over you.

We found out a long time ago that we weren’t meant to fall in love with each other. But a part of me still did.

Something always brings me back to you; it never takes long.

I want to be cured of a craving for something I cannot find, and of the shame of never finding it.

I didn’t want to like you, didn’t want to fall in love with you. I wanted to hate you, to be okay with not ever talking to you again. But we don’t always get what we want.

I could see your heart. You held it out before you for everyone to see, and I worried that it would be bruised or torn. And more than anything in my life I wanted to keep it safe, to warm it with my own.

But you don’t want me; and I don’t know why.

This is a story of a girl who turned out wrong, because she only loved things that couldn’t love her back.

I’d forgotten that I don’t get involved because the pain just isn’t worth it. All that flattery and attention distracted me from any pain that might have been lurking around the corner, but of course the pain got me in the end. It always does.

I should be as strong as I seem. You should miss me. I should forget you. You should care.

You asked why I don’t talk to you anymore, and please believe me when I say it’s not that I don’t want to. It’s just that everything I want to say, are the words that should be left unspoken.

I wish you had been who I thought you were.

You and I were so beautiful, but nobody knew. Nobody would ever know but you and I.

I’ll never be able to change. Just give up on me.


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

