I still remember how it all came back together just to fall apart again.

What I said was that you deserved someone beautiful and special, somebody who would never hurt you. But what I meant was that you deserved someone much better than me.

If I could gather up the nerve, I’d put my feelings into words.

How far is too far?

The beautiful thing about memories is that they are yours, whether they are good, bad or indifferent.. they belong to you. And no matter where life takes you, your memories tie you to where you’ve been.

It wasn’t until that moment that it occurred to me this might be a mistake.

I’d forgotten that I just don’t get involved because the pain just isn’t worth it. All that flattery and attention distracted me from any pain that might have been lurking around the corner, but of course, the pain got me in the end. It always does.

As a result of my history, I’m afraid I’ll let you down.

I no longer believed in the idea of soul mates, or love at first sight. But I was beginning to believe that very few times in your life, if you were lucky, you would meet someone who was exactly right for you. Not because he was perfect, or because you were, but because your combined flaws were arranged in a way that allowed two separate beings to hinge together.

Of all the frightful monsters I have ever faced; nothing can compare to the viscousness of unrequited love and haunting loneliness.
I’d quietly begun to hope for nothing at all in the way of love, so as not to be disappointed. It works. It gets to be a habit.

And suddenly, I become a part of your past.

More than anything, I wanted to be able to see him again, to see in his eyes that what we had had been real and that he wasn’t a stranger. I didn’t want a big gesture or an elaborate conversation — I just wanted to know that something was still the same when everything else had changed.

Broken lover, yes I made you believe that I’d be the one to heal you.

I just wanted to be perfect.


2 Responses

  1. Your site is amazing. I come here for pretty much everything, alot of the quotes showed me who i really am.. Thank you.

    • Thank you so much. ❤

Leave a Reply

