People always say you don’t know what you have till it’s gone. Truth is, you knew what you had; you just never thought you’d lose it.

The sad part is, he only meant forever when he said goodbye.

Say you want me to be there.

I pushed you away because I knew if you stayed, I could never turn you down. You are the most beautiful thing that’s ever happened to me, and you will always have me.

I remember sitting and eyeing your tiny smirks. And that was the last time I remember feeling something.

You know, when you stop being frightened, time really is on your side. And you can just go on being you.

And it was like she was only there when it was convenient for him; like she was the gas station no one ever visited unless their tank was coming up on empty. Yeah, there were days when she hated him, and there were days when she was head over heels, too. But none of those days mattered, because she could never have him, no matter how hard she fell.

I wish that you were here, or that I was there. Or that we were together, anywhere.

And you might think I’m bulletproof, but I’m not.

Somehow, you always end up running through my head. Don’t ask me why, after all the lies. I don’t even know why I still care, but somehow I just can’t let go. Maybe it’s the thought of you coming back one day, but you better have a clue and realize I have feelings too. It’s not always just about you.

I can honestly say that leaving you was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. But I can’t say that I regret doing it.

When things happen in real life, extraordinary things, there’s no music, there’s no dah-dah-daaahhs, there’s no close ups, no dramatic camera angles. Nothing happens. Nothings stops, the rest of the world goes on.

And this is my life, getting dumped with no warning. Or liking people who don’t like me back, or who don’t like me enough, or not as much as they like someone else.

The moments that are being spent alone are making her weak.

Something inside me says, “There’s somewhere better than this.”

I don’t want to wonder what should’ve been, what could’ve been, what might’ve been.

And that’s the photograph that brings tears to my eyes.

Sometimes I catch him staring, and I wonder what he’s thinking.

Yes, I am alone, but then again, I always was.

After awhile, a girl begins to wonder if she’s doing something that’s pushing him away.

You’re not hopeless or helpless, and I hate to sound cold, but you don’t know what love is. You just do as you’re told.

Maybe one day you’ll notice me, but for now, I’ll just blend in with the walls, just holding my breath when you walk by.

More than anything, all I have ever wanted is to be close to someone. More than anything, all I have ever wanted is to feel as if I wasn’t alone.

You give anything for it. Sometimes you give everything. But sometimes it’s just not enough.

Don’t worry about me, I’ll be alright. I only get this lonely, late at night.


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

