It’s been you all along. It always has.

But she did love him.

You’ll move on, you’ll try to replace it, but there are always going to be times when you think back to the times when you really felt alive.

The men in the room suddenly realized that they didn’t want to know her better. She was beautiful, but she was beautiful in the way a forest fire was beautiful: something to be admired from a distance, not up close.

It’s not that I’m mad at you. I had just wished and hoped so hard that you could be the one thing I could finally count on.

People say that walking away is the hardest thing to do, but it isn’t. Staying, even when you know it will break your heart, is the hardest thing. Staying right where you are, waiting for your entire world to be ripped into pieces is much harder than walking away and starting a new one.

I need the smell of summer. To wake up to the sound of lawnmowers and sleeping till noon. I need the smell of chlorine pool hair in my face, and laughing non-stop with my best friends. I need drama free days full of bonfires and camping. I need a break from caring.

Some girls spend their whole lives searching for Prince Charming. Me? Well, I found mine a long time ago. I just don’t know if I’ll ever be his Cinderella.

Once upon a time there was a boy who lived in a house across the field from a girl who no longer exists. They made up a thousand games. She was Queen and he was King. In the autumn light, her hair shone like a crown. They collected the world in small handfuls. When the sky grew dark they parted with leaves in their hair.

It was the sort of beauty you feel so deeply it becomes contagious and somehow makes you feel beautiful too.

I’ve been waiting for the longest time. I want you to come back. Maybe if the sun would shine, it’d bring my happy back in the dark. So tired of waking up and it’s dark. So tired of being stuck on my own here.

I’m sick of these mixed signals. I’m only human, I can’t read your mind.

It’s funny, most people can be around someone and then gradually begin to love them and never know exactly when it happened.

If there’s just one piece of advice I can give you, it’s this: when there’s something you really want – fight for it, don’t give up no matter how hopeless it seems. And when you’ve lost hope, ask yourself if ten years from now, you’re gonna wish you gave it just one more shot .. because the best things in life, they don’t come free.

The people who know the least about you always end up having the most to say.

If you were happy with the wrong one, 
just think how happy you will be when the right one comes.

I’d be lying if I told you, losing you would be something that I could handle.

I think it was the first time in my life I ever felt like I looked “good.” Do you know what I mean? That nice feeling when you look in the mirror, and your hair’s right for the first time in your life?

All the things I’ve tried to say were never easy to explain. They were always meant for you, and all the memories that were made for years and years, I’ve chased this day. They were always for you, always for you.

All my life I had been looking for something, and everywhere I turned someone tried to tell me what it was. I accepted their answers too, though they were often in contradiction and even self-contradictory. I was naïve. I was looking for myself and asking everyone except myself questions which I, and only I, could answer. It took me a long time and much painful boomeranging of my expectations to achieve a realization that everyone else appears to have been born with: That I am nobody but myself.

Whatever you are running from is eventually going to catch you. I think it already did. It is latched on. Running isn’t an option. You can either fight it or let it be. But you can’t run. It isn’t going anywhere fast and neither are you.

You’re bored of cheering me up. Bored of calming me down. Bored of drying my eyes. But there once was a time when you were the one. You were the blue of the sky, you came after the storm. You were the switch on the wall, in the dark of the hall, I’m still fumbling for.

Sometimes there’s nothing to say. Sometimes silence expresses more than words. Picking up the phone, dialing a number, it can do more damage than good. But humans are afflicted with this obsessive desire to talk things to death, so we make things worse by trying to make things better.


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

