I hate that I’m such a perfectionist.

I constantly feel like I’m not worthy of anyones love.

But, at the same time,

I can’t seem to find anyone good enough for me.

I’m built to fade like your favorite song

 But I’ll keep coming back, over and over,

 because some small part of me,

deep down inside,

keeps reaching for a meaningful relationship

What I hate the most isn’t that you aren’t here,

it’s that it feels like you never were

You want to know what its like to be a player?

It sucks. It fucking sucks.

Nobody chooses to be like this.

I’m so good at getting you to like me,

Ill have you attached in a week.

 But the second i feel like it could possibly go anywhere,

my instincts scream, “run”.

And then I’m gone….

Running, running so fast.

Not quite escaping the grasp of my past.

Lying and cheating and begging galore,

I’m walking demons right up to my door.

Searching and prodding and gasping for air,

of the damage I’ve done I’m well aware.

Now I find myself in a deadly chase,

wondering the stakes of this hopeless race.

In a world where you can make beauty, hope, and grace,

why does it seem that all I made were mistakes?

If you travel far enough away,

You will find a bench.

And at times I sit upon this bench

and ponder deeply about things past and since.

Here, I often set my memories free,

unleashing them to feed upon me.

Ravaging through forbidden places,

they shine lights on the darkest of faces.

Pushing fears to the top of my head,

and filling veins with familiar dread.

No, you can’t turn around and go back to what you left behind,

you already decided that rose wasn’t worth it’s spines

These violent delights have violent ends

I gave up a lifetime of morals for a night with the legend.

And maybe what scares me most of all

 is the fact that I would do it again in a heartbeat…

well these days when i look back,
i know i’m blessed to have been loved like that;
i still miss you everyday


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

